Pledge for Candidates in the EU Elections

More than a quarter (27%) of the EU population aged 16 years and over has a disability. The Disability Federation of Ireland and our colleagues in the European Disability Forum call on all Irish candidates to the European Parliament to sign the Disability Pledge. This is making a commitment to the disability community to prioritise disability; working in the European Parliament for disability equality and inclusion.

The Disability Pledge wording 

When I am elected to the European Parliament, I pledge to:

  • Work together with the disability movement to ensure the fulfilment of the European Union’s Strategy on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities.

  • Re-establish, and join the Disability Intergroup of the European Parliament.

  • Adopt measures to maximize the accessibility of the electoral process to facilitate people to vote independently and in secret.

  • Promote the participation of disabled people and their representative organisations in the political and public life of the EU – including increasing the number of persons with disabilities working in EU institutions.

  • Adopt measures to support the development of a range of person-centred support services in communities for independent living.

  • Ensure preventative measures against institutionalisation.

  • Introduce policies and a new EU budget aimed at a more social Europe, supporting inclusion and equal opportunities for persons with disabilities in all areas of life.

  • Adopt further legislation ensuring accessibility for persons with disabilities and realising their right of free movement in the EU.

  • Strengthen the protection of persons with disabilities in the EU and beyond, particularly in areas of conflict and by supporting the EU in becoming a stronger promoter of the implementation of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, UN CRPD worldwide.


Sign the pledge

You can sign the pledge in two ways:

1. Complete this online Pledge Form

2. Download the word document below, enter your details, and send via email to Brenda Drumm.

Pledge for candidates in the EU elections 2024 in Word - click here 

Pledge Signatories (20) 

An Rabharta Glas (1) 

Robin Cafolla  (Dublin) 

Fianna Fáil (3) 

Barry Andrews (Dublin) 

Barry Cowen (Midlands North West) 

Billy Kelleher (South) 

Fine Gael (2) 

Maria Walsh (Midlands North West) 

Senator Regina Doherty (Dublin) 

Green Party (3) 

Ciarán Cuffe (Dublin) 

Grace O'Sullivan (Ireland South) 

Pauline O'Reilly (Midlands North West) 

Independent (3) 

Eddie Punch (Ireland South) 

Luke Ming Flanagan ( Midlands North West) 

Michelle Smith (Midlands North West) 

Independent Ireland (1) 

Ciaran Mullooly (Midlands North West) 

Independents 4 Change (1) 

Clare Daly (Dublin) 

Labour (1) 

Niamh Hourigan (Ireland South) 

People Before Profit (1) 

Bríd Smith (Dublin) 

Sinn Fein (2) 

Chris Mac Manus (Midlands North West) 

Lynn Boylan (Dublin) 

Social Democrats (1) 

Sinead Gibney (Dublin) 

Non Party (1) 

Stephen Garland (Midlands North West) 



Updated: 23 May 2024